ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 Overview

You are a cricket fan and want some thrill to satisfy your sports hunger, well ICC has got your back. ICC will be organizing “once in 4 years” cricket world event in May and June 2019. With highest voltage event in cricket world, this event is known as “Flagship event of ICC in cricket calendar”.

Here is all you need to know about the event;

Live Streaming & TV Guide

All the matches will be played in England & Wales and will be aired live on TV channels around the globe. Star Sports in India, Ptv Sports and Ten Sports in Pakistan, Sky Sports in New Zealand and UK, Willow TV in US and Fox Sports will provide live coverage of every ball along with pre match & post analysis of each CWC 2019 match.

Matches can also be seen online through Ten Sports live cricket streaming, whereas live cricket is also available on mylivecricket.

Previous Stats:

Starting in 1975, this will be 12th edition off ICC Cricket World cup. Till now 5 nations have become world champions of cricket being Pakistan and Sri Lanka once, India and West indiestwice and Australia 5 times. With exceptional performance Australia is considered most successful team in all time cricket world cups. While in non-member groups Kenya qualified for semifinals once hence making a benchmark in cricketing history.

Latest team to debut in Cricket world cup is Afghanistan, which played its first WC match in 2015. Australians will be defending champions this year.

What’s expected in upcoming event?

The English Game Fans will see the 12th edition of cricketing global event where 10 teams will be competing this year which are lesser than previous formats. Teams will include Host Nation, 7 top ranked teams and 2 qualifier teams from all over the world. This year Afghanistan and West Indies qualified during qualifier matches held at Zimbabwe in 2018.

Participants include Hosts (England) Top ranked Teams from ICC Ranking (Pakistan, Bangladesh, India, New Zealand, Australia, Sri Lanka, and South Africa) and Qualifiers (Afghanistan and West indies).

A total of 15 man squads were announced by participants before 23rd April and teams can change any played till a week before the tournament starts.

Playing Format:

2019 Edition will be hosted by England and Whales for the 5th time at Oval. In 50 over game, a total of 48 matches will be played in Robin Round and Knockout format tournament.

This format is simple and same as 1992 world cup. All 10 teams will play 9 matches in Robin Round Stage and top 4 teams will qualify for the Knock out or semifinals.  Before the event starts, 10 warm-up matches will be played from 24th to 28th May 2019.


A total of 11 grounds will be used during the event where final will be played at London. Oval Cricket Ground, London will host the first match between England and West Indies 30th May 2019.

Edgbaston Cricket Ground, Birmingham and Old Trafford Cricket Ground, Manchester will host the semifinals during the knockout round.

Random Posts